If you've been injured in a Michigan accident, from a car crash to a slip and fall, a number of state laws could come into play. That's true whether you decide to file a personal injury lawsuit in court, or even just pursue an injury settlement with an insurance company.
A law called a "statute of limitations" sets a deadline on your right to file a lawsuit against the person or company you believe is responsible for your injury.
In Michigan, you have three years to bring a personal injury lawsuit to court. If you don't get your lawsuit started in time, the court will almost certainly dismiss it. In most situations, the three-year "clock" starts on the date of your accident, but if you don't "discover" right away that you've been injured, the three-year "clock" might start running on the discovery date instead.
You'll find the Michigan statute of limitations for personal injury cases at Michigan Compiled Laws section 600.5805.
In some situations, the Michigan statute of limitations deadline might be extended, or the starting of the "clock" might be delayed.
If, at the time of the underlying accident, the injured person has a mental condition that keeps them from understanding their rights, the statute of limitations "clock" probably won't start until their competence is restored, or their interests can be fairly represented (Michigan Compiled Laws section 600.5851).
If the injured person was under 18 at the time of the accident, the three-year "clock" usually won't start until they turn 18 (Michigan Compiled Laws section 600.5851).
If the person who allegedly caused the injury leaves the state before a lawsuit can be filed, and is gone for more than two months, the period of absence likely won't be counted as part of the three years—as long as there's no way for the plaintiff to "serve" the would-be defendant with the lawsuit during the absence (Michigan Compiled Laws section 600.5853).
Michigan has enacted a detailed set of laws that apply when your injury may have been caused by the fault of the government—at the state or local level—or one of its employees. Under the state's Governmental Tort Liability Act (codified starting at Michigan Compiled Laws section 691.1401), you can only bring an injury claim against the government over specific kinds of mistakes or negligence, including:
You'll likely also need to file a "notice of claim" with the agency that was involved in (or that you think is responsible for) your accident. For example, if you're asking for compensation for injury or property damage caused by a defect in a public building or on a government-maintained road, you'll usually need to give notice of the incident to the proper agency within 120 days. Learn more about injury claims against the government in Michigan.
In Michigan, most personal injury lawsuits are filed in either:
Usually, if you're planning on asking for less than $25,000 from the at-fault party, you'll file your lawsuit in one of Michigan's district courts. If the amount you're seeking looks like it will be more than $25,000, circuit court is typically the right place to file your personal injury lawsuit. Learn more about Michigan's court system (from courts.michigan.gov).
If your injuries are relatively minor and you're not planning on asking for more than $6,500, you might want to consider the option of small claims court, which is run as a division of the district courts in Michigan.
Learn more about how to file a personal injury lawsuit.
In you share some amount of fault for the accident that led to your injuries, the amount you can recover from other at-fault parties in court may be reduced (and your chance to recover for certain types of losses is even eliminated).
Michigan uses a "modified comparative fault" rule in cases where a personal injury plaintiff is found to be partly at fault for their own injury. Under this rule:
This rule can be found at MCL section 600.2959.
Suppose you're driving a few miles per hour above the posted speed limit, when another driver runs a red light and hits your car. You suffer severe injuries, your case goes to trial, and the jury finds that you're 10 percent at fault, while the other driver is assigned 90 percent of the blame. If your total damages equal $100,000, Michigan's modified comparative fault rule will kick in to award you $90,000 (the $100,000 total minus $10,000 for your 10 percent share of fault.
But remember the wrinkle we discussed above. If your share of fault is 60 percent, you can still recover 40 percent of your "economic" damages, but you're barred from getting compensation for your pain and suffering and other non-economic losses.
Technically, no. Michigan courts are required to apply the modified comparative fault rule in injury lawsuits that make it all the way to trial. But since insurance adjusters always negotiate an injury settlement with one eye on what might happen if the case ends up in court, don't be surprised if the adjuster brings up the comparative fault rule during settlement talks.
Michigan follows a "choice no-fault" car insurance system. In traditional no-fault, each driver's "personal injury protection" or "PIP" coverage will usually pay for medical treatment and other out-of-pocket losses after a car accident, regardless of who caused the crash. Filing a claim against an at-fault driver isn't possible unless injuries are serious enough under state thresholds.
Michigan's car insurance system lets vehicle owners choose the level of PIP protection that's right for them, and offers a few more unique wrinkles. Learn more about Michigan's car insurance rules and requirements.
Michigan Compiled Laws section 287.351 makes a dog owner "strictly liable" if their dog bites someone, meaning regardless of the animal's past behavior, the dog owner is responsible for resulting injuries. Exceptions include when the injured person was trespassing, or when they provoked the dog.
Get the details on Michigan dog owner liability for bites and other injuries.
Damages caps create limits on the amount or types of compensation an injured person may receive in certain types of cases, even when their lawsuit is successful (meaning they win in court after trial). Most often, these laws limit non-economic damages, also known as "pain and suffering."
Michigan doesn't cap damages in all personal injury cases. There are no caps that apply to car accident lawsuits or slip and fall cases, for example.
But Michigan does set caps on non-economic damages in medical malpractice cases. That means the amount of money an injured patient can receive for their "pain and suffering" and other non-economic damages is limited when they sue a health care provider for injuries.
There's a standard cap for all medical malpractice cases, and a higher variation in cases involving death or certain catastrophic injuries or disabilities, both of which change annually based on economic factors. Get the details on Michigan medical malpractice laws.
If you'd like more information on Michigan personal injury laws, feel free to do a little legal research of your own. You can also get the basics about:
If you're looking for legal advice that's tailored to your situation, you might want to discuss your potential case with a personal injury lawyer.