New Jersey Child Support Calculator
To use the child support calculator, select or enter the appropriate information next to each statement.
When you have completed the form, click on the calculate button to get an estimate of the amount of child support that the non-custodial parent will have to pay to the custodial parent in New Jersey.
Please remember that these calculators are for informational and educational purposes only. The amount of child support a court will order for any particular case may be different from the amount estimated by the calculator.
For the most part these calculators assume that all of the children will primarily live with one parent. It is not intended to estimate situations where there is joint physical custody or split custody.
These calculators do not take into account any possible adjustments for children who are not subject to the custody order but who are living with one of the parents.
These factors and others may affect a child support order entered by a court.
The purpose of this calculator is informational and educational only. It does not constitute legal advice. This child support calculator is based on statutory guidelines. The court has the final authority to determine the amount of child support awarded. This number is only an estimate and is not a guarantee of the amount of child support that will be awarded. Other factors may affect the amount of child support awarded. Please see an attorney in your area for more detailed information:
How to Apply for New Jersey Child Support
Children deserve the benefit of having the financial support of both parents, even when those parents are no longer married. Child support cases in New Jersey are handled by the
New Jersey Child Support Agency (CSA) – a division of the New Jersey Department of Human Services.
If you would like to apply for New Jersey child support services, you can contact a local child support county office near you. Whether you live in Paterson, Edison, Jersey City, Elizabeth, Toms River, Newark, or elsewhere in the state, you should be able to apply for child support services.
You will need to fill out an application for services. This application can be obtained directly online or you can get it from your county’s Board of Social Services, Welfare Office, or Family Court.
There is a one-time non-refundable $6 fee that must be submitted with the application. If you are receiving public assistance, your fee will be waived.
In New Jersey, you have the option of enrolling in full child support services or partial services. Full services include:
- Locating the non-custodial
- Establishing paternity
- Medical support
Partial services include one or a few of the above services. There is a $6 fee per service. Monitoring, however, costs $25 a year.If you would like to obtain an estimate of how much your monthly child support payments may be, use the reliable child support calculator at www.AllLaw.com.
Finding a lawyer couldn't be easier! To locate a lawyer in your area choose your state, then your city and then choose a type of law relevant to your situation.